A Wife of Noble Character Who Can Find?

May 26, 2015

How is it possible that May is almost over? This month has been full of things happening and I realize that I did not get to post much about my theme for this month: BE A GOOD WIFEY.

My last day of school was May 16 (on a Saturday, yes… Saturday!) and the last few weeks leading up to it were crazy! I felt like I was running around ragged the first half of the month. And even after school was over, I was in the process of moving all my things out of my classroom, which was also an exhausting task. Needless to say, I did NOT successfully keep all of my resolutions for this month. In fact, if I’m gonna be honest with all of you, I think I did pretty miserably!

Two things that just did not get done nearly as much as I was hoping were praying with Dean every day and doing the dishes. There were just some days I was so tired that I forgot or decided it could wait another day. And one particular day I remember telling Dean I was just so tired and overwhelmed, but that I would try to do the dishes later – and he just went over there and did all the dishes without me asking him to. And I remember thinking “this is going to look bad on my next blog post!” Haha – not that I am complaining!

There were a few successes though – I asked Dean this month if he could think of a video game that we could play together. Normally I don’t want to play video games and lecture Dean about how much time he already spends playing video games. So this was kind of a big change for us. He chose a game, called Trine 2, for the PS4. It’s kind of a fantasy game, with wizards, knights and quests, etc. Honestly, it has been kind of fun. I usually play as the character Zoya the Thief. She has a bow and arrow for a weapon and also a grappling hook that she can use to easily get to higher ground, so basically she’s the best character! I’m getting better at navigating her controls, though I am certainly not an expert!

Zoya, the Thief

I think one of the coolest things that happened this month was that one night Dean opted to play video games with me instead of playing his normal game, Battlefield, with the guys. He probably plays about once a week online with his friends, and I thought for sure he would not want to give that up to play Trine 2 with me, but he did! (Sorry guys, you know who you are!) One big point of contention with me and video games is that sometimes I feel like I am competing for Dean’s time and attention. So this was nice to feel validated, but at the same time I was agreeing to do something that he liked… so maybe a bit of a compromise?

Another success this month had to do with my goal of “Being my husband’s biggest fan.” What this goal meant for me was to say more encouraging words and be supportive of goals and dreams that Dean has for himself. Dean for a while has been a bit unsure of where he wants to go next in his career path. He has even brought up going back to school before, which I usually immediately follow that up with questions about how we are going to afford to pay for it. (Not the most supportive, I know.) This month, Dean had an opportunity for a promotion at work, but he ended up not getting it. I was really disappointed and frustrated at first, but honestly I believe God has something better planned. Ever since then, Dean has been ultra-motivated to job hunt here in Abilene, even looking at career possibilities he normally would have overlooked before. Dean also has been telling me that he would like to take some courses in IT – and going along with my goal for this month, instead of complaining about the cost, I told him that if he wanted to do it, he should do it. It has been so nice to see Dean getting excited about his job (or I guess I should say future job). And it has been nice to feel like maybe in a small way I have helped encourage that excitement instead of stamping it out. I’m really looking forward to seeing where God leads him next – I know he will do great wherever he ends up!

Although I did not come close to keeping all my resolutions this month, I feel like it was valuable and I learned a lot. One thing I learned is that I really do not want to have a job that keeps me too exhausted to feel like I can be the wife I am supposed to be. I am so excited about summer because I feel like I will have time to really be present with Dean and do the things for him I always plan on doing. And maybe with my new job next school year, things will be easier too – at least that’s my hope! The nice thing about this resolution is that it is not just a one-month kind of thing. Even though I didn’t accomplish all the things I wanted to, I can try again next month. (And the next, and the next! I can just keep growing in this area and that is exciting to think about!)

IMG_0417

And doesn’t this guy deserve it??? Love you, Dean!

Proverbs 31:10-31 
 The Wife of Noble Character
10 [b]A wife of noble character who can find?
    She is worth far more than rubies.
11 Her husband has full confidence in her
    and lacks nothing of value.
12 She brings him good, not harm,
    all the days of her life.
13 She selects wool and flax
    and works with eager hands.
14 She is like the merchant ships,
    bringing her food from afar.
15 She gets up while it is still night;
    she provides food for her family
    and portions for her female servants.
16 She considers a field and buys it;
    out of her earnings she plants a vineyard.
17 She sets about her work vigorously;
    her arms are strong for her tasks.
18 She sees that her trading is profitable,
    and her lamp does not go out at night.
19 In her hand she holds the distaff
    and grasps the spindle with her fingers.
20 She opens her arms to the poor
    and extends her hands to the needy.
21 When it snows, she has no fear for her household;
    for all of them are clothed in scarlet.
22 She makes coverings for her bed;
    she is clothed in fine linen and purple.
23 Her husband is respected at the city gate,
    where he takes his seat among the elders of the land.
24 She makes linen garments and sells them,
    and supplies the merchants with sashes.
25 She is clothed with strength and dignity;
    she can laugh at the days to come.
26 She speaks with wisdom,
    and faithful instruction is on her tongue.
27 She watches over the affairs of her household
    and does not eat the bread of idleness.
28 Her children arise and call her blessed;
    her husband also, and he praises her:
29 “Many women do noble things,
    but you surpass them all.”
30 Charm is deceptive, and beauty is fleeting;
    but a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised.
31 Honor her for all that her hands have done,
    and let her works bring her praise at the city gate.

Leave a comment